Village Interpretative Panels

In total 16 interpretative panels have been developed in Ashford, Aughrim, Baltinglass, Blessington, Dunlavin, Enniskerry, Kilmacanogue, Lacken, Laragh, Newcastle, Newtownmountkennedy, Rathdangan, Rathdrum, Roundwood, Shillelagh and Tinahely

Since 2008, Wicklow Uplands Council has worked with a number of local communities to develop a network of interpretative panels which promote and raise awareness on the natural and built heritage in towns and villages throughout County Wicklow. The project relies on strong community participation and community groups are encouraged to take ownership of and actively develop their panel.

This project is a partnership between village communities, Wicklow County Council and Wicklow Uplands Council. To date the project has received funding from County Wicklow Partnership (LEADER), the Heritage Council and the Department for Environment, Heritage and Local Government. Local communities also contribute to cost of the panel.

All information found on the panels can be fully explored in the links to the village below